Description
The fifth stage of this variant of the Mariazell Trail starts in the so-called forging center of Ybbsitz, which is known for its artistic metalwork and traditional blacksmithing. Everywhere in the village we discover interesting sculptures, old machines, forges and other references to the old craft. In 2010, "Forging in Ybbsitz" was even added to the list of Austria's Intangible Cultural Heritage. We start at FeRRUM (World of Iron) on the "Blacksmith's Mile", an interesting three-kilometre-long themed trail, and walk out of the market, where we pass the adventure bridge, for example. At Bauernschrotmühl we have a wonderful view of the interestingly shaped Prochenberg (1123m) and hike uphill to Mitterlehen. Here, at the small chapel, we also have a fantastic panorama of the mountains to the east. From Mitterlehen it is not far to the romantic pilgrimage church of Maria Seesal. Situated on a hill, hidden in the forest, this church has a very special history. According to legend, the construction of the pilgrimage church goes back to a dream of Helene Wochner, who saw an image of the Virgin Mary in her sleep one night. When she later discovered the same image in a mill, she erected it on a hillside. The image was followed by a wooden chapel, then a stone chapel and finally, in 1904-1906, today's pilgrimage church was built above this chapel. Below the church, we walk in a southerly direction along winding roads until the path bends and we walk between the Gschliefkogel and Spitzkogel and the Hamotkogel. Here the trail climbs steadily for some time until we reach Oberhackstock and Haslau. Through beautiful mixed forests and past countless fish ponds, the trail leads us to Bodingbach and Holzapfel, where we stop at an original chapel and take a breather. We reach Lunz am See and can make a detour to the Amonhaus - one of the most beautiful Renaissance buildings in Austria - on the right as we enter the town. The building was constructed in 1551 by an Italian builder. Its richly decorated façade features various motifs such as hearts, lilies and dolphins, while the arcaded courtyard is often used for exhibitions and concerts. At the Lunz church, the path leads us along the Seebach stream to Lake Lunz, which now lies picturesquely before us, nestled between lush green forests. We continue along the southern shore of the lake on an idyllic gravel path to Seehof Castle, an impressive building near the lake. After a short climb, we reach Durchlass and walk through the woods to Maierhöfen. Here we immerse ourselves in the deep forest for a long time, but also enjoy the wonderful views of the surrounding mountains several times. After a long hike, we finally reach Lackenhof. There is a small but very beautiful church with a lovingly landscaped garden and a lovely cemetery on the hillside.
Starting point of the tour
Ybbsitz
Destination point of the tour
Lackenhof
Route description Upper Austria Mariazell route: B: 5th stage: Ybbsitz - Maria Seesal - Lunz am See - Lackenhof
From the church along the Smithing Mile to Bauernschrotmühle, turnoff to the Mitterlehen farmstead (676 m) and further to the pilgrimage site Maria Seesal (524 m). Along the road by the Schwarze Ois southwards to the Fuchslehen farmstead, the marked path upwards eastwards to Gscheid (843 m) and further to Bodingbach (662 m). Shortly afterwards, heading south, the path on the left leads to the railway track of the Ötscherland Express. Along the railway experience path until just before the entrance to Lunz am See, a path downwards to the road and to the parish church. Now along the main road (towards Unimarkt), turn right at the intersection into Seestraße up to the Landhotel Zellerhof. Then continue right (small bridge), immediately keep left and along the lake promenade to Lunzer Lake. Along the shaded south shore to Schloss Seehof. At the junction Durchlass/Maierhöfen steeply uphill to Durchlass (768 m). Along the Lackenbach at Maierhöfen uphill to Lackenhof (809 m). From Ybbsitz to Maria Seesal 2 hours, another 3.5 to 4 hours to Lunz, and further about 3 hours to Lackenhof.
Directions
Coming from Linz, drive to the Oed exit (131). Via Aschbach, Kematen, Rosenau, and Waidhofen an der Ybbs you reach Ybbsitz (L84, B121, B31 and B22).
Parking
Parking spaces are available at the marketplace (short-term parking zone) as well as at the former train station.
There are two bus connections directly from Waidhofen an der Ybbs to Ybbsitz (MO3 and 1666). You can reach Waidhofen by train.
Author's tip
You can stop for a meal in Ybbsitz, for example at the Kirchenwirt "Kiwi". The restaurant offers guests the finest dishes and the friendly staff are especially helpful with "pilgrim questions."
At the Kirchenwirt guesthouse in Lackenhof, affordable overnight stays are available. Excellent food is also offered.